California DMV Permit Test - California Road Signs 2

Question 1 of 25

Question 2 of 25

Question 3 of 25

Question 4 of 25

Question 5 of 25

Question 6 of 25

Question 7 of 25

Question 8 of 25

Question 9 of 25

Question 10 of 25

Question 11 of 25

Question 12 of 25

Question 13 of 25

Question 14 of 25

Question 15 of 25

Question 16 of 25

Question 17 of 25

Question 18 of 25

Question 19 of 25

Question 20 of 25

Question 21 of 25

Question 22 of 25

Question 23 of 25

Question 24 of 25

Question 25 of 25


 

Get Your California Driver’s Permit With Our California DMV Permit Test

California DMV Permit TestThere are several steps involved in receiving your learner’s permit in California. You need to make sure you meet the eligibility criteria and submit a completed application to the DMV.

Completing a driver’s education course and passing your permit test are two of the most vital steps. Here is all you need to know about applying for the California driver’s permit.

1.     Eligibility

In order to apply for a driving permit in California, you must be at least 15 ½ years of age. The laws of the state require every aspirant to have completed a 30-hour California driver’s education course.

Driver’s education course provides essential knowledge regarding driving rules and laws while preparing you for the written test. This driver’s course needs to be approved by the Department of Motor Vehicles. After you are done with the course, you will receive a Certificate of Completion.

2.     Practice Permit Test

Taking practice permit tests online is an effective way to prepare for your written permit test. They test your knowledge to enable you to learn better. Practice tests help you to:

  • Get familiar with the written test format
  • Identify difficult topics
  • Manage time better
  • Achieve confidence
  • Build good driving habits

3.     Requirements for License Application

There is a checklist that you need to tick off before visiting the DMV for your license application. If you do not have the required documents, the DMV is likely to ask you to come back later after completing your paperwork.

Here is a list of documents you need to carry to the DMV:

  • A completed application form
    This form is known as the DL 44 and needs to be signed by your parent or guardian. Every copy of the form has a unique barcode, so you cannot download them online. Visit your local DMV office or call the state’s phone line to ask for a form being mailed to your address.
  • Proof of completed driver’s education course
  • Social security number
  • 2 different forms to show your California residency

School and medical documents are acceptable for this purpose.

  • Application fee

4.     The Procedure

Next, you will be required to sit through a vision exam and a written California DMV permit test. The written test will examine your knowledge regarding driving laws, road signs, and other rules in the state of California.

The test will contain a total of 46 MCQs, out of which you will be expected to correctly answer at least 38 in order to pass. This implies a passing threshold of 83%.

In case you fail the test, you can go for a re-take after 2 weeks. You can take the test up to 3 times within a year’s window. If you are still unable to pass, you will have to re-apply for your learner’s permit by making the payment again.

5.     Permit Restrictions

After passing the test, you are all set to begin practicing on the road. However, you need to be mindful of a few restrictions.

Teens possessing a learner’s permit can only drive with a parent, guardian, or an adult who is at least 25 years of age and has a valid driving license. You may not drive yourself with your friends in the car.

In order to apply for a driver’s license before you turn 18, you are required to:

  • Practice driving for at least 6 months
  • Finish 6 hours of driver’s training under a licensed instructor
  • Complete 50 hours of driving practice, which includes 10 hours at night. These hours need to be finished under the supervision of an adult who is at least 25 years of age and has a valid driving license.

Once you have fulfilled these requirements, you are eligible to apply for a provisional license.

If you are aspiring for the California DMV permit test, make sure you complete the driver’s education course and are well-prepared for the DMV written permit test.

Practice tests are crucial for acquainting you with the pattern of the actual test. Attempt practice California permit test as many as you can to enhance your knowledge.